Those Bloomin’ Feathers

Finally…..finished this whole cloth quilt. Okay, actually a week ago and finally taking a minute before bed to post a couple of pictures.

The design is based on drawings I did about 4 years ago but this value gradations fabric was the inspiration to put it all together. This is a cotton sateen which runs from a light blue grey to almost blue at the edges. The vase of feathers needed a strong vertical element but I didn’t want it just “hanging” out there. I think of it as sitting on a little table in the yard, being visited by butterflies.

It is also almost impossible to get good pics of whole cloth quilts, at least for me. I will work on getting better ones but for now these will do. It has arrived at HMQS for the show, I will look forward to seeing it next to all the other beautiful quilts.

20140417-205337.jpg

20140417-205356.jpg

Leave a comment